top of page

How Do You Know You're A Stylist?

I remember this Ugly Betty episode where Amanda Tanen asked Betty what she had to do to be a stylist. And Betty answered, "I don't know, I think you just say you're one". I now see that it's not that easy. I went to school for fashion design, but dropped out after a semester (That's a whole story). So I don't have a degree, and I wonder if I'll ever get one. I know a few people that work in the fashion world. And they all have degrees of a sort. That got me super worried, like maybe I should hold a degree too? But going back to school doesn't interest me at this time in my life.

As an alternative, I decided to see where networking and getting gigs on my own would take me. I know a photographer who let me style two of his shoots. And I got to know a stylist who has been a big help with connecting me to other people/places. As well as showing me the ins and outs of the stylist world. It's more work then I first thought. Not that I'm complaining, I'm in love with all of it. Getting to create a look for someone and then seeing how it photographed. It's pretty fucking awesome!

The photo's above are from the first shoot I ever styled. It was with the photographer I mentioned earlier. I was in charge of hair, makeup, and wardrobe. I was so unprepared! I'm just happy the makeup looked better on camera because my gosh! That was a challenge. I had a pretty tight budget and no connections to a showroom, so the entire outfit had to be thrifted. If you're thinking about getting into styling, thrift stores will quickly become your best friend. Anyway for a first time, I did okay. But I learned a lot and was ready to kick ass in round two!

Until next time, kisses kittens <3

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page